Lauren: Fruits from the Field

The resource I chose to focus on for this blog is Mystery Science (www.mysteryscience.com) due to its usefulness to teachers who may have difficulty coming up with science lessons that both relate to their students and meet the Next Generation Science Standards. My cooperating teacher uses this website to help guide her science lessons, which unfortunately, do not earn enough time in the classroom due to the required time blocks for reading and math.

Mystery Science is a great website that provides “open and go” lessons that focus on a mystery, or an essential question that students will ask themselves throughout the science period. There is an Exploration portion that provides a video introduction, an Activity that provides a hands-on experience for students, and Optional Extras to act as support or extension tools that can help teachers differentiate each lesson or unit.

There are three units for each grade level, and each lesson in the unit is a Mystery, with 5 Mysteries acting as 5 weeks of content. There is also a chart that provides exactly what Next Generation Science Standard each lesson covers, and assessment tools that you can decide to give to your students.

I really loved this website and have signed up for the free trial membership (available until June 2018!); I feel as though science can be an intimidating subject for both students and teachers, and having Mystery Science as a tool as an instructor and focus on the curiosity and questioning as an elementary student will ultimately be beneficial in teaching this subject. This website aligns with my current teaching philosophy, which takes my students’ curiosity and eagerness to learn and cultivates it into something that is so productive and student-activated. It’s a website that I think I would pay for past my membership expiration at $99 dollars a year, and I think everyone should give it a look!

Lauren

One thought on “Lauren: Fruits from the Field

  1. Lauren,
    I love this! I think this will be very useful in a science classroom. As an up coming teacher, science can make me feel scared in the sense I might not know enough to actually teach the science material to my class. I am always a little nervous before I start a science lesson and I feel like with this site, I will feel much more comfortable. I really enjoy how much is on this site as well. This will help so many teachers, whether they are strong in science or whether they are not so strong in lessons. Thank you for sharing this information with us. I do have a couple questions regrading the site. How much is it after June 2018? If I get it now, will I be able to keep it for free after that date? I really would like to get this site, but I’m a little nervous about the price. I know you said 99 dollars a year, but is that for the entire site? Do I have to pay for stuff on the site itself?

    Like

Leave a comment